Janine’s embroidery on show in Cardiff

Cwilt Cymru member Janine Jones is also an active member of the Embroiderers’ Guild and her work is included in the All-Wales Region Exhibition of Embroidery put on by the Embroiderers’ Guild of Wales at the Pierhead Gallery Cardiff during September.  

The piece was made for a Serentex challenge to produce work on the theme of trees and a specific season.

Janine describes how the piece began: “It’s from a photo I took up at Llyn Geirionydd in the snow, it had snowed very heavily and I just had to walk up to the lake and see it in all its glory with the snow laying deep.  It was very difficult walking – I fell over a couple of times and I was absolutely shattered when I got back, but worth it. Then when Serentex set the challenge of an embroidery of trees I thought the photo I had taken would be just the job, cropping it and enlarging it to the size required it worked out quite well and I was pleased.” The piece is 6″x18″

Leave a Reply

