Connection: Holding it Together by Judy Stephens

Holding It Together 1 and by Judy Stephens

Holding it Together 1 by Judy Stephens

Holding it Together 1 by Judy Stephens

Holding it Together 2 by Judy Stephens

Holding it Together 2 by Judy Stephens

To say that these quilts have been a struggle is an understatement.  My mother used to say “My head is splitting” when she had a headache. These split heads are all about the various headaches in my life.

Our theme of Connection brought to mind WB Yeats’s line: “Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold.”

I am interested in the use of text and also the conundrum of spontaneity, often illusory, in the slow medium of quilting.  The head, or what is going on inside it, has been an image which I have used for some years in my quilts.  I spent my working life as a newspaper journalist and I have an on-going fascination with graphic imagery and narrative.  Telling my own story through fabric is important to me.

I would like to thank my friends in this group for being so kind and patient with me.

Faced and fused applique; hand and machine stitch; free machine quilting. Commercial cottons; hand printed and dyed cottons; digital print on fabric; cotton thread; linen thread; wadding.

This quilt is part of the Connection touring exhibition by Cwilt Cymru.

Leave a Reply

